Arrrrr- I am back in the land of minus 2

Submitted: Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:19
ThreadID: 48808 Views:3109 Replies:16 FollowUps:23
How quick it is to forget the warm fuzzy feeling of the Tropics when the change from shorts and thongs to trackpants and boots, happens.

I arrived home this evening from Darwin after an 8 day trek along some of the tracks I haven't driven before.

From Darwin I drove to Jabiru, Piune Creek, Karherine and south along the Stuart Hwy. Did a left hand turn 20km south of Elliott NT on to the Barkly Stock Route. Then on to the Tablelands Hwy and then left again on to the Ranken Stock Route via Connells Lagoon Reserve. Endless plains of Mitchell Grass and thousands of fat cattle, mostly Brahman. A short stint on the Barkly Hwy via Avon Downs Rest Stop and then south again past Austral Downs, Alpurrulum Community and Lake Nash Station. Then a dog leg to Urandangi and onto Tobermorey Station and east across into Queensland. Then Boulia, Bedourie, Birdsville, the BVT, Clayton Station Bore(artesian spa) and Maree, Flinders Ranges and home.

Most roads have been graded recently or having work done on them and are in a good condition. There are a few bulldust patches here and there and a 50km section of the BVT is a tad stony, but quite driveable at 80kmh.

The MRF Super Traction crossply tyres behaved well and no punctures were suffered on this trip. Did close to 10,000km with only a steering damper and trailer plug having to be replaced along the way.

Have thought up lots of ways to make camping easier by altering the configuration of the trailer and the wagon for the next adventure....but this will have to wait while domestic duties call for the time being( that is, to repair everything that has broken while I was away!)....lol

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:36

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:36
Hi there Willem,

You sure don't go as the Crow flies mate.

Sounded like a good trip. Any exciting stories to tell us?

AnswerID: 257769

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:47

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:47
Hi Bill

I wiull work on my trip report over the next few days and post it on my website and here on EO.

Yes, I had a very interesting encounter at aremote location with an EO forum user. Will send you a MM regarding this.

FollowupID: 519032

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:44

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:44
Hi Willem

Good to see you had a good trip and got home safely..

at least now the forum may settle back down to a 4WD site ..LOL

Your mates need a talking to :-)

AnswerID: 257771

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:56

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:56
Hi Richard

I did a bit of EO lurking while in Darwin but on the whole was pretty much out of the conversation.

Mates? Do I have any?...lol

FollowupID: 519033

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:45

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:45
Willem,
To return to your rabbit warren, after revisiting the Joys of the Tropics, speaks very highly of The Lady's skills.( cooking being one of them, I believe.)

Mate, don't be surprised if Doug'n Dusty call in.And don't you believe a word of what I said about you. That l'il Tenterfield Tuffy doesn't translate 100% accurate, eh.
Onya Willem: next year, eh.
Jeff.
AnswerID: 257772

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:58

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:58
Hiya Jeff

Still keeping them honest??

I Doug and his furry mate on the loose?

All is forgiven what you said about me. Anyway I had forgotten it in the first place...lol

FollowupID: 519034

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:03

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:03
So can I take it that whilst your in this forging mood, you will forgive everything I said about you too.
You old donut muncher, you are such a nice man.LOL
FollowupID: 519056

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 23:38

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 23:38
Glad you're back safe and sound. We look forward to reading you latest adventure tales.

Motherhen and the Old Rooster

AnswerID: 257776

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 19:36

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 19:36
Hello Motherhen and The Old Rooster

Glad to see you hav3e an updated Rig Pic. Hope the OR is happy with his Effie.You certainly will have a lot more cabin space!!

FollowupID: 519121

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:55

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:55
Posing only for the photo - we haven't be away with it yet. I have booked a couple of weeks leave for late September to try it out (without the caravan). Hoping to do the Holland Track, but have reservations about the narrow winding woodlands end of the track as we don't want to get it all scratched just yet. The Old Rooster is saying we should go to sheep sales in Adelaide instead.

Although roomy and comfy seating, we were surprised that we found it harder to find places to fit our accessories than in the Patrol. Not having a glove box is a down side too.

Regards to you and Judith

Motherhen & OR

FollowupID: 519148

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 22:52

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 22:52

I would agree with Rooster

I wouldn't that that on the north end off the Holland track , I'd say a wee bit too long, I got sore arm's in the troopy .. LOL

FollowupID: 519156

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 22:58

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 22:58
Thanks for the feedback on the track Richard. Can you recall where this stretch starts, and if there are any better alternatives to get to the Highway (Great Eastern or Kal-Norseman) from there, or are they worse?

FollowupID: 519160

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 23:17

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 23:17

The track between Banker MT Day Road and Victoria rock road

around Thursday rock. look the track is not that bad, it is a bit tight and windy in places around this area but no worse than most WA 4WD drive tracks.

We travelled through there in 2003 maybe a lot has changed, it's one of those tracks that is a must..

Cheers Richard
FollowupID: 519162

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 23:57

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 23:57
Welcome back 'ol fella! Sounds like you had a good trip North.

Can't begin to tell you how much we enjoyed the gathering at Warraweena.

Hat's off to you for being instrumental in organising such a great do.

Muddy and Judy
AnswerID: 257777

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 00:05

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 00:05
What he said, x2

;-)))
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 519039

Reply By: Hairy - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 00:46

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 00:46
Gday Willem,
2 degrees here this morning, give it a week and it will be 30 at the same time I reckon.
Dont forget to say Gday to Pop from Roger.
AnswerID: 257781

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:28

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:28
G'day Hairy

I caught up with Pop on the phone tonight and passed the greetings on.

Might be back up north in a coupla months time doing a trip out to the west. Still waiting on other development to eventuate. So will call in a again to say g'day.

FollowupID: 519129

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 09:30

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 09:30
So the old bus got you through again without issue.

So, how many klms is on it now?

You should add a page to your site, and keep an update of 'bits that break' or issues you have on your trips just out of interest.. Seperate from the trip reports, but then again, not that many people take the routes you will lol!
AnswerID: 257793

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:00

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:00
Yep. Close on 345,000 clicks. Still running sweetly. Now has some real serious scratches on it from doing 'exploring'in prickly country...lol

Oh yes, forgot to add that my battery solenoid karked it as well so I ran the batteries in parallel and disconnected them each night. A bit of a pain but not that serious.

FollowupID: 519054

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:23

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:23
G'day Bro, good to know you had a safe trip and are still an advocate for the MRFs..

Wish Jude all the best for this next week but to leave off on the kneeling for a while.

In Melbourne currently for a couple of things. Seems continual to have to come this way..
AnswerID: 257802

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:41

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:41
G'day Bro

Yer, I heard there was a shindig on tonight in the Big Smoke.
Unfortunately it was out of the question for us.

Thanks for the good wishes too. She is going to need them...lol

Should catch up with you all around the end of September.

FollowupID: 519146

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 12:00

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 12:00
Hows it going Willem ,

Glad to hear you have had a trouble free trip .

Havent been so lucky myself , had 2 days in the cold when the Patrol wouldnt start again , changing glowplugs later in the week so hopefully will fix it.

Got a bit of a fright the other day at work , a magazine was face down on the table , I flipped the back cover open and your mate Noel was staring back at me , ended up being an article about him and camels in Australian Geographic.

Glenn.
AnswerID: 257807

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 20:19

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 20:19
G'day Glenn

You are not having much luck with your cold starts ,eh? Hope you are able to sort it out soon.

Yep, me old mate with the white beard had his face all over the papers at one time. He remains a true bush character.

FollowupID: 519254

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 12:10

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 12:10
Welcome back Willem!!

Gee you cover a few miles.

I'm here back in Perth twidling my thumbs counting down the weeks. I down to week 47 :(((

I've put 90% of my recent trip in plotswap - check it out when you have some time.

Al

AnswerID: 257808

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 20:22

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 20:22
G'day Al

Yep its a bugger when you only get holidays once a year.

I am in yhe throes of planning more treks along tracks I haven't been on but they can only happen next year and the years after. Hope I live long enough toi see them all....lol

Will go and have a look at your trip report soon.

FollowupID: 519255

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 15:35

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 15:35
Welcome back Willem, glad you made it back ok... Good to hear you didn't have any major problems. Hope to catch up with you sometime soon...

Cheers ......Dave
AnswerID: 257817

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 20:27

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 20:27
Hi Dave

I think my old GQ is too well run in now to present major problems. I have learned to live with the gearbox creaks and squeaks and those of the suspension. Like everything else though, there is wear and tear around and I will be looking at new brake pads and possibly new shockies in the not too distant future.

FollowupID: 519256

Reply By: GREENDOG - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:03

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:03
G'day Willem sounds like you went through same nice country mate good to hear you did'nt have to many problems.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 257821

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:12

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:12
Hi Willem ,

Getting back to the cold is a reel bummer . Good to see you had a great trip .

Willie .
AnswerID: 257837

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:08

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:08
Ah! stop whinging, After puting back all the bits that agone a missin!! on the nissan, The temp will come back up again!.

Good to see ya had a great trip.

AnswerID: 257852

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:23

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:23
I think I saw one Defender amongst the 1000's of other 4bies whilst on my travels. Must say something,eh?

Yeah I had a good trip in a reliable vehicle...lol

FollowupID: 519127

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:35

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:35
A Joke Joyce!! . . Jeez the skin must of got thinner.

FollowupID: 519132

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:57

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:57
Skin gets thinner with age

Wit gets sharper with age

Some understanding dulls with age

Take yer pick...hahahahahaha

FollowupID: 519136

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:03

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:03
The three of them will be a start!, :)))))))

You take the boredom out of this place once again!.

FollowupID: 519139

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:15

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:15
Hey Willem

It was great to meet you and Milton, Glad to see you had a safe return.

I will do my best to catch up on my next trip south, lucky for me I can only travel south during summer.

Say Gday to Milton for me please.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 257857

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:37

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:37
T'was good to meet up with you too, Steve, and to hear of all the updates on the places I used to frequent all those years ago.

We are normally home over the summer period so you are welcome to pop in for a cuppa or a camp.

Will convey your greetings to Milton when I see him next.

FollowupID: 519143

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 21:12

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 21:12
'Bout time you got back........

No reason at all why one bloke should have so much time travelling
about and enjoying himself...when the rest of us are stuck at home............

Get back and help Judith, washing/ironing/mending/painting the house/fixing the garden/going to the art exibition dah dah dah dah..........lol lol

Michael
AnswerID: 257987

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 08:11

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 08:11
Yep...and I need to do some concreting too....so I will take you up on your offer of labour, starting next weekend.....LOL

FollowupID: 519292

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 20:04

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 20:04
Bugga,
Wont be home,,,,,,,and if I am I have a crook back, or knees, or something....lol lol

Michael
FollowupID: 519436